Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Glencoe - Day 3 - Glen Etive

I think today is what the Scottish call dreich weather. The clouds have not lifted at all, it has rained all day and the wind seemed to be blowing the rain onto my lens no matter which direction I was pointing my camera!

Before breakfast we had a short walk around Glencoe Lochan where I took the first extra photo. We had breakfast in our cottage - they had supplied eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, smoked salmon, black pudding, haggis, bread, crumpets....I only had gluten free muesli while Gavin made himself an omelette. After breakfast we set off south where we stopped so I could take the main image in my blip which is a waterfall just as you enter the Glencoe Pass. 

We then went to Glen Etive. The road runs alongside the valley and river, which has a series of cascading little waterfalls and rapids. The clouds hung low, it was raining constantly, and you could barely see anything. This is the location that was used in Skyfall to shoot the house that was James Bond's childhood home. I have added an extra of one of the cascading waterfalls. This valley also has many deer and we came across a few, see extras. I never knew they had such curly hair in their ears! The road leads to  Loch Etive and does not go further, so you have to return back on the same road. By now it was lunch time and we went looking for somewhere to eat - we found a good seafood place and had some mussels.
 
I was hoping to get back to Fort William to meet up with Stuart (SuartJRoss) but by the time we had lunch it was quite late and he had already left the site where he was working. The weather had closed in so we decided to return to the cottage.

Tonight we are meeting David (RockArea) for supper as he arrived today to start a workshop in Glencoe tomorrow. It's good we overlapped by one day, as we leave to go home tomorrow. 

Today is Luke's birthday. We had to drive into the village to phone him as we have no coverage where we are staying. We will see him on Friday as he is coming home for the end of university term.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.