Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Tiny orchids

I was very sad when I woke up this morning to learn that Sudan, the last male northern white rhino, had died. We met him in Kenya last August and although he was blind and not very strong he was still okay. A friend saw him a few weeks ago when she was in Kenya and she said he was very weak and could no longer stand. He is the last male of the species and I know they tried to do IVF but it failed, so I am hoping it can be attempted again (they took samples before he died). I have added an extra of when we met him.

I phoned Luke this morning for his birthday and he was feeling a bit lonely on his own in Berlin for his birthday. He was going to maybe meet a friend for lunch before starting work at 2pm. Apparently the office staff are taking him out for dinner tomorrow night to celebrate his birthday and we will see him on Thursday in Switzerland so he has that to look forward to.

These orchids standing on my kitchen window sill caught my eye this morning. I never used to like orchids, in fact I would go as far as to say I detested them, but my new kitchen is one of those very modern minimalist style kitchens and so stylish orchids seem to suit it well. They are very small so I am hoping they qualify for the Tiny theme of Tiny Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.