CHURCH CHARE

Had a disturbed nights sleep thanks to Lily.  Around 4.30am I woke up as I could hear her crying.  She continued crying for ages all around my bedroom until I could ignore her no longer.  I decided to get up as that's obviously what she wanted.  We both went downstairs.  I just pottered around for a while then read a bit of next weeks Radio Times.  Lily mooched about here and there going outside for a bit and then back indoors - and then out and in again.  After about 20 mins I went back to bed.  Lily came too and settled down at the bottom of my bed and went straight to sleep.  Why she disturbed me I have no idea.  Silly Lily. 

Morrisons as usual this morning.  After unpacking, scanning and putting away the shopping I felt really tired so I sat on the sofa and had a nap.  Then I had breakfast and watched TV for a while.  Then fell asleep again.

Later on I decided to have a little walk and get some fresh air.  The Wide Wednesday theme today is something derelict so I headed for Church Chare to take shots of a complex of empty buildings there.   The buildings in my blip shot and the Extra were at one time the Coach House, Stables, Carriage Washery and Stable Yard of a big house. In 1921 part of it became The Parish Hall for St Mary's Church.

Then in In 1923 the building in the Extra was leased as a picture hall. It was also used for other purposes and at one time it was said to have been a roller-skating Rink.  In 1931 it became a full time cinema known as The Regal. I remember going to the cinema when I was little to see the children's films which were shown every Saturday morning.  No adults allowed  - just 240 screaming excited kids. It was mayhem. 

The Regal closed on 7th November 1965 and became a Bingo Club which it remained until August 1993. Then  it became a gym. The gym closed a few years ago and this part of the building has remained empty since then.

The building in my main blip shot used to be where the owner of the cinema and bingo hall lived.  Part of it was used as a workshop when the owners daughter had a sewing business.  When the cinema closed the owner moved out and part of the building became a cafe and gift shop.  This closed last year ( the cafe owner was forced out ) and the talk is that the whole building is going to be renovated and turned into flats. So far nothing has happened.  The wall at the front was damaged a while back and a piece of wood was used to repair it - just a temporary fix which has ended up being permanent.  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

When I got back from my walk I did the washing up but felt too weary to tackle the ironing.  I'm taking codeine regularly for the pain and I think its making me sleepy.  Hopefully I will get a good nights sleep tonight. ( Take note Lily )

Steps today - 6,982

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.