creative lenna

By creativelenna

picking okra

Have you ever eaten okra? It's really quite good. We tried one raw standing in the field at Geraldson's farm yesterday, upon the recommendation of a fellow picker! We never had it raw before- it was similar to celery. I just learned that outside of the United States okra is often called lady's fingers.

When the farm hands told us that part of our share this week would be U-Pick okra in field #4, I had no idea that the okra could be spotted by it's gorgeous flowers! I could not choose one photo; I simply could not! So I brought 3 photos into Photoshop and created a panorama picture. You really must look at this LARGE - I do not think this smaller photo will do the flowers justice!

This is part of our "half share" (bi-weekly pick up) in Geraldson's Community Farm. Last night we had salmon with turnips (from the farm) casserole -an easy Julia Child recipe my mom gave me guaranteed to please anyone, steamed swiss chard & beet greens (farm) plus steven's famous homemade mashed potatoes made with soy milk! All delish! And we still have the okra, green bush beans we picked ourselves, a huge head of fresh leaf lettuce, baby sun gold tomatoes, the actual beets, 2 green peppers, a couple of jalapenos (I won't be eating those -steven choose them!) an eggplant, 2 daikon radishes, some red kale and a sugar dumpling squash!!! I don't think we'll need anything more untill our next pick-up - some families have a weekly share. It is all good and worth the money we invested in the farm before the season started. Plus it is fun to go there and I also got fresh flowers and lemon basil! I will take you here again . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.