my interpretation of one street: florida, usa

Recently, I had seen a few of my blipfoto friends here participating in the One Street project -follow that link to find the discussion and read more about it. It was Kendall, who started this intriguing, inspiring idea who said, "I'd love to encourage other Blippers to tell the story of one street (lane, avenue, track, whatever) and tag the photos One Street so we can search for them together."

In looking at other entries and thinking about what street I might do, I got the idea to use the river we live on as my "one street"~ the Braden River in Bradenton, Florida. I was not sure if it would be 'legit' as it is a river and not a street persay, but we do travel on it in boats like it is a street. We have met our neighbors traveling this way -the houses in the area all connect to the river. My husband Steven does a 4 minute commute by boat across the river to the other side almost every day, sometimes more than once a day! He works on woodworking projects, boats and handmade kayak paddles at Lucas Boatworks, situated on the Braden River. I smiled and said "yes!" when I read Kendall respond to a comment on the project, "The original project as conceived by Ursula LeGuin included portraits of the people who lived and worked on the one street. This is wonderful. I am not sure how anyone could subvert the project, because the point of it (from my perspective) is to accommodate every conceivable interpretation of one street."

So this will be my interpretation of one street and I will certainly enjoy participating in this project, especially as this is a new home & "street" for us. Today's entry was taken as sunset was descending into night and by changing my settings I caught a sliver of the moon - large is nice. This photo was taken standing in my back yard. I am going to go I have gone back and tagged a few a dozen previous photos with One Street (we moved here on the water just a month ago) and I will also tag them with creativelennaOneStreet so I can find/share just my own One Street photos. I hope you enjoy this project and my many thanks to Kendall! I like the idea of sharing the many facets and stories of one street over a period of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.