sunday skies with a heron

Large view HERE. First, I must say thanks for all your visits, comments & stars on yesterday's Garage Kitchen . . . somehow this entry was catapulted to the spotlight page for most of today, a rarity for me. The last time I checked, this garage kitchen blip had over 800 views! That seems rather crazy and makes me wonder if there was some kind of computer typo! But lovely to discover anyway . . . perhaps it has something to do with our SundaySkies.

My Sunday included a visit to DeSoto Memorial park specifically to look for more variety in the fairly grey Florida sky. I figured the more expansive views might help! I was delighted to find some kind of heron, which I have included in my photo. I took some closer photos just of him -or her, which you can find here. He or she looks like a great blue heron, but more brown than grey. I was a little stumped until I figured out this bird could be either be female or immature. (Thanks Ann!) I found many photos showing varying plumage on this Smithsonian site.

I will continue to do Sunday Skies with a participant list for 2 more Sundays: Dec 22 and 29th. After Dec 29, I won't be gathering a list of participants and publishing it with my blip. I will however probably still do SundaySkies and will mention the link SundaySkies in my posts. If you want to continue blipping Sunday Skies, just add a tag of SundaySkies -all one word, no space. If you don’t know how to add a tag, just ask! It is an option when publishing, filled in after your photo description. Adding a common tag gathers all our entries on one blipfoto page. You will be able to click on the link in my post (or yours!) to view and enjoy all the Sunday Skies that may still be blipped. This will reduce the amount of work for me, but allow us to continue in a way. The participant list was a good way to get this started . . . and if you are like me, you are viewing the sky differently now. This was my intention from the start. The bonus was getting to know you and your journals better! Thanks so much.
Two more weeks with a list –make sure to notify me to get on it!
Here is who I have for this week:

Beckett – Australia
Flying-leap – New Zealand
isbi – Australia
09panda67 – New Zealand
MummaHen – New Zealand
Cloudscapes (Irisinthesky) – UK
Miffy – New Zealand
Jillian’s Journal – New Zealand
My 2013 Challenge (Honeycombebeach) – England, UK
Art Quilter Pictures – Scotland, UK
Kath Gordon – UK
John39 – UK
BepW – Australia
Gitama’s World – Australia
Hopps1 – UK
meyesme (Ben’s Photos) – UK
It’s a Journey (LeeAnn) USA
365 Plus (riversider) – UK
View from the Croft Gate (Croftcrafts) – Scotland
MrsL – UK
annhall - Florida, USA
The Wren - Scotland, UK
Elysium – Arizona, USA
Tucson Jim – Arizona, USA

~~~~~~~~~ thank you all for contributing!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.