Huge!

I love this medieval dovecote at Cotehele. I wondered why it is so large so did a google search - as you do nowadays! Also known as culverhouses they signified the owners were privileged, but they also provided meat, feathers and manure for the estate and had religious significance as related to the Holy Spirit. There are often doves perched on it but I'm sure they are no longer eaten! 
It's a long while since I did this circular walk, but Oscar remembered the last time we did it and got very excited when we drew close to the tree where he spotted a squirrel last time! He had been very good with the lure of cocktail sausages and chicken bites when we met other dogs, but I think the pent up excitement of not having a good old play resulted in giddy behaviour. He  prances and leaps around and leaps up at me! Oh my! I throw sticks for him to chase but when I bend down to pick them up he grabs them and sometimes inadvertently gets my hand! Definitely got the Spring fever!
There is work on the carparking areas so we were diverted into the garden and  infront of the house instead of going past the wall and locked gate which prevents access. I noticed daffodil displays over the doorway to the house so will go back tomorrow to photograph them without Oscar! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.