madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Short

Trip to the hairdresser today - hair is now 1 cm long! Well who knows when the next visit will be possible! Afterwards a lovely walk along the river at Cadsonbury - only saw 5 people, usually meet many more. After that a trip to stock up on cat, dog and hen food - there was plenty of hen food but the others were in short supply, especially cat litter! I was surprised in Tescos earlier in the week that the section with cough medicines, tonics, vitamins and minerals were well stocked.  Surely these are more important than toilet tissue? I'm taking everything I can to boost my immune system.
Meanwhile on the kitchen front, shelves being put in the cupboards, tiles being put on the wall above the counters and wooden counters getting oiled - oh my how beautiful the wood is! For the moment the builders are all happy to continue working - I may get my kitchen completed! My sister thinks I should stop them coming - but after the weeks we have spent together I think that horse has bolted! She has decided not to come down for her 60th birthday - she has gone into self isolation, no longer going in to help at her old school. She contacts me daily and I come away from the phonecall feeling quite anxious! Not as anxious as one of the coop members who thinks we should move the hens to a friends farm to stop them being stolen! I don't think we have got to that point and hope we never do. I can't believe anyone thinks we will run out of eggs - the hens are going to keep laying! Also they are on to nothing if they think they could eat them - they are bred for eggs not eating. Apparently The British Hen Welfare Trust have decided not to sell ex battery hens to newcomers - they have been inundated with enquiries. Hens are for life not just for the coronavirus. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.