Daffodils!

Well the daffodil dispaly at Cotehele didn't disappoint! There were arrangements all over the grounds - some representing the history of the area as a daffodil market garden! They were absolutely beautiful - they can be seen here Also fascinating article here and here  on the history and types of daffodils. There was a display tent of the varieties of daffodils and oh my so many different types! Can't say I was keen on this one in the middle though! I prefer the double bloomed and narcissi!
There is a starnge attitude in people who live in Calstock that they shouldn't pay to get into Cotehele. There are several entrances to the garden through the woods and the locals would always use these. Recently these have been locked! So when party Girl discovered she would have to pay she was horrified! She set out to find a way in as I sailed through on my NT membership card! I visit a variety of NT properties so I think it is well worth it - and every time I use my card at Cotehele, at the house or mill - they get money from the organisation! Maybe there should be a diffrenet rate for locals - after all many will spend money in the shop or restaurant which otherwise they wouldn't! 
Party Girl did find an entrance at the bottom of the garden open - good job she has long legs as she had to walk down to the quay, along by the river and up throught the woods and garden itself! In fact she is such a quick walker she beat me to the cafe at the quay as I got caught in the toilet!! 
I of course bought some daffodils, and 3 pots of black parrot tulips! Plus a pottery hen that i have been coveting ever since I saw them many years ago at the Contemporary Craft Festival! As Party Girl said - I've not been going out for nearly two years so have saved loads of money?! Plus my birthday is coming up! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.