Abstract Thursday: Surprise Shapes and Patterns

I really like Ingeborg's chosen theme for today's Abstract Thursday challenge, as it prompted us to look for abstract shapes in our world.

I spotted this shadow shape on the grass of a roundabout at Killingworth this morning. I think it looks pretty abstract - although in fact it's the shadow of a sculpture which I've blipped before here. The sculpture is of an early railway engine although the design wasn't based on any particular locomotive, rather being a general artistic response to Stephenson’s early locomotives.

I pondered doing some further Photoshop abuse on the photo, and indeed I tried a few effects, but decided to leave it pretty much Straight-out-of-Camera, although I did decide to make it into a monochome as I thought it worked better that way - the bright green colour of the grass was rather distracting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.