The Remains of Another Day

It must be the sign of ageing, but here I am at 6 pm to find another day has slipped past and finding it hard to remember how I’ve filled it.

I do remember there was a scurry into town early this morning to hand in some papers required by the lawyer acting on behalf of my granddaughter whose dad died so suddenly last month, and I popped into the Virgin Money Café for my free coffee on the way home.

I also found one of those Asian greengrocers near the Dower House who sell vegetables I’ve never seen or eaten before but who also sell overly ripe bananas suitable for making a banana loaf. Oh and then I remember I made a banana loaf that I want to give to my neighbour tomorrow morning when I have a breakfast coffee with her.

The afternoon has passed in a blur of cross country trainers, running machines, bikes and rowing machines and an examination of this beanie hat pattern for the Shetland Wool week that Poppy and I are going to in September. There must be other things I’ve done but I’ve quite forgotten what they were .

There’s a large G&T with my name on it waiting for me later, to toast a new arrival on her way to Orkney as I type!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.