Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Only in Barnsley

I had to renew my Public Sculpture of Sheffield and South Yorkshire book in the library this morning (and pay my dues) because I’d reached the magic number of ten for online renewals.  So we had a walk around the new market hall and a browse of what was on offer.  I’m not sure if Pat’s Pants has a franchise or if this is purely a Barnsley phenomenon!  Actually there’s a wide variety of traders here from food outlets to carpets and lots of scope for anyone who wants to try out a new business.  Barnsley always did have a reputation for being an excellent Market Town.  The new library is almost finished and I think the leisure facilities will be next. 

I’ve been photographing birds in the front garden and included a slightly ruffled female Siskin as an extra.  When I came back to my computer I also spotted a Brambling among the many finches that were feeding, which is a first  this year as far as I’m aware, though if I hadn’t chanced to pick up my binoculars at that moment I might not have spotted it.  No photo as it was feeding on the seed that I’d scattered just beyond the garden wall and then they all took flight and it was the last I saw of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.