A Required Selfie

I promised Aziz I would take, and post, a selfie from the Theatre Royal in Nottingham where I went this evening to see a double bill from Opera North and the Phoenix Dance Company.

Ostensibly it's to show off my jewellery which Len bought from Aziz two years ago and which I hardly wear. Naughty.

The dance company performed Stravinsky's Rite of Spring. It's not a timid, gentle piece. Rather it portrays Spring as a violent resurgence, concluding with a sacrificial virgin dancing herself to death.

Gianni Schicchi by Puccini, featured in the second half. I'd seen Opera North perform this before. The set was the same, a wall with climbing holds, a mule suspended upside down from the ceiling and a huge bed which could be rolled across the stage.  This time, the notary didn't come right on to stage but sang from across the wall.

Altogether too much climbing of walls and beds. It was a bit the same with a production of Norma four years back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.