Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

The meaning of things

They say that our homes are a reflection of who we are! My home is not a glossy magazine home, but it does feel homely and all that can be seen has a meaning or a memory.

This is the view I have on my sideboard from my couch on the opposite side of the room.

The flowery mirror was bought on holiday in France many years' ago. The clock was a gift from my brother when he was working in antiques and renewing furniture. Three tiny stone hearts on the left of the clock from my daughter, the tiny cherub sitting on a heart from my grandson, a very tiny bird from my son, the table lamp was my dad's and the flower vase a gift from many years ago. The photos are of my children when they were young. The one on the left of the clock is my grandson as a baby.

The hanging angel, delicately painted,  was bought in a lovely shop which was closing down in Lausanne. 

As you see by the time on the clock, this was taken early this morning, before the sun rose over the building below mine. In about an hour, the sun will come streaming into my home with its dancing golden light!

I'm usually awake between 5 and 6 am and I love getting up early!

I sometimes change the objects on the top of my sideboard, but they always have a meaning.  There are often candles and flowers. I need to pick up some more today.

Have a lovely weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.