Just around the Corner

What you may wonder is just around the corner. Why, it’s the Söderberg bakery which produces all the buns, scones and cakes which tease me with their fresh and tempting availability. But not this morning.

I do hate the weekends now with no HL to do things with, but I picked myself up and dusted myself down and strode into John Lewis to look at chairs. The sun shone, the sky was blue but the wind was brutal. It was early enough that the tourist hordes were not yet abroad in numbers so it was possible to walk in a straight line into town.

The chair I have set my heart on is only available online from JL and the company are unwilling to send it up to a store so that I can try it for size. They say that if they send it to me and I don’t like it they will send a carrier to take it back- not ideal but it looks so nice I may risk it. Daughter #2 says she would buy it from me if it’s not comfortable, but you can’t always rely on your children coming up with the shekels.

With a possible offer in the pipeline for HL’s beloved bike, I brought it up from the garage this afternoon and gave it a quick clean to make it more attractive, as you do. It’s a Dawes Super Galaxy touring bike and has a certain value amongst the cycling fraternity. I feel bad getting rid of it, but it has to be done. There is still that feeling that at any time he will come back and be devastated that it’s gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.