A day in the life

By Shelling

Centered

One of the great things about living on a rather small island is that you always have four horizons to choose from, depending on the kind of weather you're having and the experience you want. The wind was west today so I went to the east side, expecting a calm walk along the beach. Theres something calming happening inside me when I smell the air and hear the sounds on a beach. This beach happens to be a mostly sandy one so the sounds are soft, there is some wind and wave gathered seaweed here and there too and then the horizon, distant and rather sharp today.
After a beachwalk I almost feel full, like I've been eating with my senses and it usually makes whatever problems I arrived with, small and insignificant. I have a feeling it might be hard to leave this island.

I live half way from the east and the west shore and almost half way from north to south too. East to west is 15 km so I can use the bicycle if I want,  north to south is 135 km. The island is directed almost straight north/south, the northern tip points toward Stockholm, the southern towards Poland. The East coast is facing Latvia/Lithuania and to the west is the Swedish mainland. 

Sitting on the excellent bench you see in the extra, I thought about my place on earth and I found it inspiring, healthy and filling most of my needs at this very moment. That's a good feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.