A good day . . .

. . . for drying the washing. There's just something about hanging the washing out on a sunny day with a gentle breeze - perfect for getting the washing dry. I do have a tumble dryer and I use it, more often than I should really, but I have got past the stage of wondering whether it is going to stay fine, looking nervously out of the window and rushing out to rescue the washing. But, when it is a perfect drying day, I love to hang out the clothes. Maybe it's that link with the past. I may have a much more efficient washing machine than my mother had, I may have an easy to use rotary dryer and better quality pegs. But in the end I am doing what has been done almost since time began - hanging out the washing. And it feels good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.