A day in the life

By Shelling

Notre Dame

The connection between the title and the blip is very far fetched, especially if you're not a Swede, because it has to do with the Swedish language and a mishearing of a religious event. 

To make a long story shorter we have to start yesterday. On the 24th of March (this year) Mary was told that she was having a baby. We don't need to go into all that because that is a long story, but the day was called Marys annunciation day (or something similar, I'm not english). Mary is also called "Our Lady" and she had a cathedral built in her honor in Paris. The point of all this is that "Our Lady" in Swedish is "Vår Fru" and the day was simply called "Vårfrudagen", "Ourladysday" in one word. Now we got the connection to todays title, but what has that got to do with the blip? The story is that the name was, probably gradually and maybe consciously called "Våffeldagen", which sort of sounds more or less the same if you're a Swede. It can also have been just a play with words that caught on and created a reason to celebrate. The word means Waffle day and always happens on the 25 of March.

My tradition eating waffles is to have whipped cream and jam (raspberry) on them and to make them as you eat them. I had a friend over to help me with that. I see now in the thumbnail that the cream sort of forms a face  kissing the jam. A beautiful image.

Partly I had waffles because I saw my accountant today and he helped me fill in my tax form, which saves me days of fretting and generally feeling stupid. This calls for a celebration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.