Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Fragile

"We blossom and flourish as leaves on a tree,
Then wither and perish, but nought changeth Thee."
                              William Chalmers Smith

I woke up early today as I said I'd drive G into work, and then run a few errands before picking her up. It soon became apparent though that something wasn't right.

G had received a call in the early hours from her sister-in-law, informing her that her youngest brother had died suddenly. He was battling throat cancer, but it wasn't going well. So, it's been a quiet day with lots of messages, a few phone calls and one pastoral visit from Jon and Pam. They brought something to eat which was really thoughtful.

G wanted a ride out, so we headed to the Last Exit for a spiced tea. My blip is of the grass there. I thought it sums up the frailty and uncertainty of life. Fortunately, Gordon was positive and fought right to the end. He was amazing really. Nothing got him down and he died feeling he had had a great life with no regrets.

I hope we can all be like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.