Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Indoors

I was going to post the picture I took of the utility area prepared for the plumber to do his work but decided against it. Too stark. What I wanted to record was the fact that I placed a bucket to catch any water dripping. When he arrived, I noticed him looking around for something. I asked him what he was looking for. He said "a bucket". Never mind that it was right in front of him!

So, the big thing today was getting two valves and two hoses replaced before they became a problem. A third valve should have been changed, but it turns out, being "old", standard sizes have changed, and the part the plumber brought with him was too big. I am told I need a 5/8" concealed valve...

The job took a bit longer than anticipated and I had to call him back later in the afternoon because I discovered a leak almost as soon as he left. He said he'd been a plumber for twenty years, though his work or way of doing things didn't reflect it.

And in other news, the numbers of the Coronavirus continue to stagger. Over four hundred thousand cases in less than a hundred days. Italy and Spain are really struggling. Yesterday we were told a billion people had been asked to stay home. Today India with 1.3 billion people went into lockdown for three weeks!! I can't even imagine that. So many homeless people. I wonder what happens to them. And to have ninety per cent of your workforce in the non-organised sector... the mind boggles! Someone I worked with did an Instagram post blatantly going against all advice to #stayhome. She was fed-up of all the news and precautions that the government is asking people to take! And lastly, the UAE announced 85 new cases today followed by the bombshell of Prince Charles testing positive for COVID-19. Poor guy, at lease with the other cases, they have the luxury of remaining anonymous.

So, my blip today is of the tablecloth. Hand embroidered by G herself, many moons ago. It has been admired recently when we had guests to tea. An indoor blip because I never left the flat today. Not even to go to the roof to switch off the water at the mains. In retrospect, I should have done it just for the exercise.

Hmmm... think I'll put the water heat pic as an extra just to record people's lack of ability to see things right in front of their eyes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.