A rubbish day!

I spent a large part of the day tramping round the streets asking shops to put posters up. BID4Oban printed 50 or 60 colour posters and a friend and I divided Oban up and got rid of them all. This is the one I put up in the library - it's closed on Tuesdays but fortunately the lobby, where all the posters go, had been left open. My extras are a couple of examples of why we at 'Keep Oban Beautiful' have to keep picking up litter!

I also visited four cafés, asking if they would follow the example of the recently opened one which has offered free tea, coffee and cake to volunteers who show up with a reusable cup in one hand and a litter picker in the other. Three agreed but the fourth declined, saying they couldn't guarantee that the people would be genuine. We do get a lot of tourists, of course, walking round Oban with the aforementioned two articles, so I don't blame them! Ha!

Roll on the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.