Apples Galore

The day started yesterday with a walk around the lake near home, and ended up with me landing in Washington DC. When I need to fly on a weekend I like going to Washington DC because there is a farmer’s market near the hotel every Sunday, all year round. This time of year there are always a LOT of apples and I saw plenty when I walked down to the market at lunch time today.

In other news - this weekend was the very end of this season’s Cross-Country ski races. The World Cup season finished in Quebec, Canada - the only venue outside of Europe. There were races on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I watched Friday’s races from home but I missed yesterday’s races as I was in the air. So I watched them on catch-up - the Ladies before I went to bed last night and the Men’s this morning, early. Then I watched today’s races live, a little later.

They were particularly exciting because Alex Harvey, a well-loved Canadian skier from Quebec, is retiring - and these would be his very last races, on his home ground. AND - he got the silver in both yesterday’s and today’s races. How cool is that? The crowds went nuts and there were lots of tears. I’m so happy he had a strong finish and I will miss seeing him ski.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.