NellieD

By NellieD

Warrington's Golden Gates

I went to Warrington this morning to discuss a job and when I had googled the directions and looked at street view, I saw the building was directly opposite the most ornate gilt gates. They looked stunning and I was so disappointed when I turned up to find that my eagerly awaited blip was in fact under renovation and repair and had been replaced by a picture. How disappointing!

The gates were originally designed for the International Exhibition of 1862, and potentially for Queen Victoria’s Sandringham home in Norfolk. People mistakenly think the gate is watched over by four angels. The four winged figures represent Nike, the goddess of Victory, as a reference to their intended owner, Queen Victoria.  They are Grade II* listed along with their associated gate piers and lamps. 

You can see them in their finery here:
https://www.warringtonguardian.co.uk/lifestyle/iconic/3731255.golden-gates/

Quote for today:
A gate keeps strangers out and strangers in.
- Anthony T Hincks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.