Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sun and Mist, Little Langdale

Awake early, in plenty of time to drive out to Slater’s Bridge in Little Langdale. It was only as I was walking back to the car that these conditions appeared. I’m having to use the iPad for editing so this is pretty much OOTC.

Then back to the hotel for breakfast, before a trip over to a Coniston to knock of another seven Wainwright’s. This time it was a long climb to start up to Wetherlam. There were views down onto the valley, just, but the scene across to Brim Fell and Coniston Old Man was obscured by cloud. As I descended then ascended to Swirl How the summit lived up to its name with cloud eddying around the top of the Fell. Fortunately, that was the last of the problems with cloud as the ceiling lifted and views across to the various targets were possible. I knocked off Great Carr and Grey Friar before lunch before reaching Brim Fell. It was blowing a gale up across the hawser between the summits and made it unattractive to stop for any length of time.

Then, with two fells left to summit I started to question the guide book I was using. Yesterday it guided me through private land, so I had to make diversions. Today it was suggesting I first tackle Dow Crag before coming back to Coniston Old Man to finish. There’s a big drop between the two and it seemed like wasted effort, especially as Coniston Old Man is a simple ridge walk from Brim Fell. I opted to follow the guide but pretty quickly regretted my decision as I would have been able to finish my walk by descending past Goats Water and down the Walna Scar Road. I shall be providing a review of the book after my first two experiences using the routes suggested.

Still it was a great day. 12 miles, 2,500 ft of ascent and then a roller coaster across the tops to bag the seven mountains, before a descent in sunshine to the finish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.