Abstract Thursday: Make & Use your own Filter

I love Ingeborg's inventive challenge for today's AT, to make and use our own filter.

I had real fun messing around with this idea. In the end, the photo I've posted was taken of the garden, using a layer of wrinkled polythene to provide some blurring and distortion. I also had the idea of holding a clear-glass light bulb right in front of the camera lens. ( I guess you might call this a "light-bulb moment" [groan!!]). The bulb was of a standard-shape, one of the newish filament-type LED bulbs with strips of yellow "filaments" running lengthways inside it. This added further distortion and produced the blurred yellow streaks you see across the image. The top of the bulb produced the curve at the right of the image.

The only manipulation was to add a little clarity and increase the saturation a bit.

Thankyou to Ingeborg for prompting me to experiment.

(And thanks too to everyone who looked at my 5-year blip yesterday and gave stars, hearts & comments, taking it up high on Page 1 of Popular - you're all lovely people!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.