All Hail Wild Wednesday 104!

Cailleach has announced that this will be the last Wild Wednesday challenge at least for the present, now that it's reached the 2-year milestone. She's done a fabulous job of hosting it all this time, many thanks Cailleach! And now she's proposing to start a new "archive" day called "Whensday" - provided she gets the go-ahed from BlipCentral; sounds a great idea. (Note: It's also her 1000th blipday - why not pop by and give her a heart?)

So I wanted to add my entry to WildWed today, but I've got a lot of catching up to do after spending far too much time preparing for our Mens' Night at the camera club yesterday (it went down very well indeed - thanks for the good wishes). So it had to be a quick garden blip.

I think the weather's gearing up for April Showers as it's been sunny one moment and chucking it down the next. This shot was taken during a short but pretty wild hailstorm: hopefully it will qualify for the challenge.

There's some fascinating technical info about hailstones here. Seemingly the stones grow whilst being suspended within a cloud by strong upward movements of air, until their weight overcomes the upthrust and they fall to the ground. I never knew that - it's amazing what one learns whilst researching a blip!

I was bowled over by the outpouring of hearts and stars yesterday for my 4th blipperversary yesterday, which surprised me by taking my rather simple entry to the top row of page 1 of Popular. Thankyou so much you lovely blippers everywhere - what a fabulous community we have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.