Four years of Blipping and Four Petits Fours…!

BlipCentral tells me that I’ve just reached my 4th Blipperversary, without missing a day - gosh – where did those 4 years go?! When I started I thought I’d probably just blip for a year, but it gets addictive when you meet such lovely people – even on the other side of the world (see here and here and here).
 
My wonderful Editor came to my rescue again when I was devoid of inspiration: she suggested that I ask you to help me to celebrate with Four Petits Fours (OK, I know “Petit Four” really literally means “Small Oven”, but hopefully a certain amount of artistic licence is allowed). Go on, buy (or cook) yourself some and join the party – I’m sorry you can’t taste them over blip!
 
We’ve discovered that you can do a lot with four fours:
 
0 = 4 ÷ 4 x 4 – 4
1 = 4 ÷ 4 + 4 – 4
2 = 4 – (4 + 4) ÷ 4
3 = (4 x 4 – 4) ÷ 4
4 = 4 + 4 x (4 – 4)
5 = (4 x 4 + 4) ÷ 4
6 = (4 + 4) ÷ 4 + 4
7 = 4 + 4 – 4 ÷ 4
8 = 4 ÷ 4 x 4 + 4
9 = 4 ÷ 4 + 4 + 4
 
…and so on!
 
Sorry to disappoint you, but I didn’t work those out for myself (see this link) – what’s more, there are some alternative ways of arriving at some of the numbers. And when I checked them I had to remind myself of that old rule we learnt at school – “BODMAS”:
 
Brackets
Of
Division
Multiplication
Addition
Subtraction
 
Once the photo was taken, it was (of course) essential to check the quality of the petits fours – they were delicious (what a shame that they only came in packs of 8, such a hardship to have to eat so many!). And as they’re “petit” and have such a lovely texture, I’m going to tag them for today’s Tiny Tuesday, the theme for which is “Texture”. (Many thanks to dbifulco for hosting TT so well this month – and very special thanks to Blipcentral for keeping the show on the road, where would we be without you?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.