Cutting

Today I have mostly been cutting squares of fabric! Mrs madwill left for the TV studio near Peterborough at 7 a.m. and, after I went out with the dog, I headed off to the studio to carry on making stuff that she was off to sell!

Here you can see my tools of the day - a rotary cutter and a shape grid. The grid has parallel slots cut at 2.5” intervals (quilters work in imperial measurements) and it is laid out on the fabric (white in the photo) and the cutter is run along the slots (in this case the 5” intervals). The grid is then rotated  through 90 degrees and another set of cuts made to give 5” squares. Each set of cuts yields 16 squares, and as the fabric is folded 32 squares are created. Repeat ad nauseam…

Then I had to pile them into set of 42 squares to go in packets - so called charm packs.

Sales from the first show at lunchtime have way exceeded expectations - some lines have sold out and Mrs madwill has promised more stock to the production company - so I think I am going to be busy next week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.