Kahu

Another run this morning, with some walking. Also stopped occasionally, not just for photos. I saw shattered glass on the footpath where someone had thrown an empty bottle (it had contained cider), presumably from a passing car. I managed to pick up most of it to place it in a rubbish bin less than 5 m away from where the bottle landed.

I was out just in time to see the emergence of the sun from behind a thick layer of clouds along the horizon. A lovely photo, but I was more drawn to the photo I took of a mural seen from the riverside path rather later in my run. The mural is impressive when seen from the path, and almost more so in this photo. Kahu is the name Maori gave to the New Zealand Harrier Hawk.

We came to Hamilton primarily for the book launch of a poetry anthology, which contains a poem written by S. The book launch was held in a large and fascinating looking second hand book store; Browsers. S (and a number of other of the poets whose work is in the anthology) read the poem which Vaughan had included in the anthology. A photo of the front cover of the book is an extra for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.