A Quality of Life

Still thick with the lurgy but on the mend, I'm finding it hard to remember what life was like before retirement changed everything. Far more money, far less time - and now the direct opposite and I wouldn't change anything, particularly the latter. Four years ago today was my last day at work. Giving up paid work, giving up the car, giving up keys and security clearances... one last coffee in the office.

There was such a hunt for this mouse mat! They were distributed and recalled in the same day, years before, but unaccountably one of them had gone missing. Some things are too choice, too wholly wonderful; they need preserving to remind us we are yet human. All the buzz-words and all the Powerpoints, they all come down to this.

Every day is a grin, every day a new miracle. I'm very much called to notice my Facebook timeline from that day when I posted "Well, that's done it!" and the final comment, from the guy we buried last month, "Jealous, I'm looking forward to retirement...". Live life. You never know. Even the bits with snot in them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.