Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An earworm for you!

I had forgotten all about it being April 1st when the phone rang at 0707. I was boiling the kettle for a cuppa at the time and checking whether Mum was awake.

It was the man who was coming to remove the asbestos from the kitchen. He had driven through the night from Staffordshire to avoid the worst of the traffic. Gulp. I wasn't dressed or really awake.

He was lost so I had a couple of minutes before he was at the door.

Never mind, I thought, it will all be done quickly.

It was not done at all, because the asbestos paper is stuck to the wayrock flooring. The wayrock needs to be lifted and all the kitchen cupboards need to be removed. The asbestos extends into the walk-in pantry so that will need to be dealt with. I have a large fridge freezer in there and a carpet (which will be condemned)!

This was not an April Fool. It did remind me of a song from my youth and here is a link to the marvellous Flanders and Swann singing it:
The Gas Man

I managed a trip to the tip, the Charity Shop and two supermarkets before collapsing into bed for the afternoon.

The saga continues. Have I heard from the insurers today? Yes, that's correct, I haven't!

PS We have no gas in Humshaugh, more's the pity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.