Tavistock Weir

I was up fairly early, expecting a workman to do some finishing touches to the decking. I wanted to get the side gate open and give him access to power from a downstairs cellar room. It had rained overnight but was now a lovely morning. Nobody arrived so I set about some tasks and then decided I was going to go out. I left access to the power in case he arrived later. 

I drove across the moor enjoying the lovely weather but after a while a few showers came in. As I got closer to Tavistock it turned into hail and must have been fairly heavy as it was piling up on the verges. I went for a cup of coffee first and then walked down to the river, intending to get low and look up to the weir and the bridge. I took several of these shots  from different positions but in the end, I didn't like how they worked out. I like this more postcardy view best at the moment but I'll go back to the other shots in a couple of days.

The first thing I saw as I approached the river was a little brown bird on a rock at the edge of the river, he turned and I saw the white bib, yes, it's a dipper. I quickly put the longer lens on and grabbed a shot. That's in as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.