Elementos da vida

Acquiring a bike and cycling to the office has been a mini-revelation for my life in Maputo. It’s been energising, although I must avoid what happened today. I was on a call with the UK until after dark, so it was a tricky ride home on streets that I’m not yet familiar with, and traffic that is definitely not familiar with bicycles. I can’t quite remember but Phnom Penh must have been equally as daunting, but I cycled there for 2+ years relatively unscathed. Here there are fewer bikes, possibly due to the hills. Cars have been giving me a wide enough berth so far, but overall traffic here is less dense and faster moving, so it feels a little edgier.

The mini-revelation is because cycling is a component of life that I’ve come to enjoy. Being ferried in taxis or tuk tuks cannot compare. Carving out a new life requires effort to replicate things that have provided stability and joy in previous places. Most elements here are a work in progress: a network of pals, a decent and convenient place to do yoga and other exercise, some favoured sunny hangout spots, and more routine and planning around meals. Satisfying those elements will provide balance, so I’m persevering.

Top left is the apartment I’m renting. Having a safe, private space certainly brings balance, and I’m grateful for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.