IT'S WEDNESDAY, SO IT MUST BE.....

….."Girls About Town" on Swindon 105.5.  I am trying very hard not to bore you every Wednesday with news of the Girls About Town programme I am involved with, but as I didn’t Blip us last Wednesday, thought you might forgive me for making a collage today.

The main photograph shows Jo, who presents the programme - and very well she does it too!  She links in the songs and chat - sometimes rather cheesily, according to Clare and me - but on the whole it all blends together rather well.  

At the top left is Jo, (sorry I chopped part of her face off - not good at selfies - my arms aren't quite long enough for more than two in the shot!), Clare and me with Shirley Ludford, the Station Manager, holding up a little sleeve or sock that I knitted to go on the handle of the roving microphones.  

When I was chatting to Shirley last week during my training session, she told me that it would be good to have something like a sleeve or sock to put onto the handle, because when it is bare, and your hand moves on it, you can hear the sound on the recording.  You all know that I love a challenge, so that afternoon I sat and made the first prototype.  Suffice to say it did look quite funny because I made it with bright red wool, but when I knew what needed “tweaking”, I made one in black for my own microphone.  I sent both photographs to Shirley and she agreed that it looked much better in black.  Having been given her “seal of approval” I set to, knitting four - one for Shirley’s own microphone and three more for the ones she loans out.  I have put them in as an extra collage, so that you can see what I mean.

The top right shot is a better selfie, with Clare and me during one of the musical interludes.  We didn’t have a guest this morning, so we had to chat together for two hours, give or take a few minutes for the songs and jingles - and we didn’t find it too hard.  

We discussed Sue and Keith’s wedding I had been to last Saturday, which as you know was wonderful, Clare’s visit to the Country Living show in Olympia, which she really enjoyed and Jo’s visit to a school, where she had recorded some of the children’s opinions about worship, values and RE teaching in the school.  Jo then played a short clip from the various interviews she did;  the children whose ages ranged from 5 to 10, were wonderful and so expressive and articulate both in their vocabulary and their songs.  Definitely an “Aww, Bless 'em"  moment.

We also chatted about make-up, book clubs, gardening, parents reading to their children and many other things.  Jo gave a “shout-out” for the up-coming Jazz & Soul Festival, which is at Christ Church, Swindon, this coming Saturday from 12 noon until 11 p.m. tickets for which are only £10.  If you are local and would be interested, you can see more about it here.  A great morning and very enjoyable, but one thing we didn’t talk about was the shambles associated with the dreaded “B” word - that is a forbidden subject!

If you would like to hear our chit-chat, which is repeated on a Thursday evening from 10 p.m until midnight (UK time) you can find the schedule and listen to it here. 

“Do what makes you happy, 
     be with who makes you smile, 
          laugh as much as you breathe, 
               and love as long as you live.” 
Rachel Ann Nunes

P.S.  I am overwhelmed by the kindness of all you lovely Blippers when I mentioned that I was thinking of "pulling back" somewhat.  I am feeling much better about things today, so will be carrying on.  Thank you so much.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.