WHAT AN EXCITING TRAINING DAY!

It was another morning of training for me at the Swindon 105.5 radio station, so despite the awful weather, and the fact that I thought I may have to interview someone outside, off I went - being careful to go the long way round as there are roadworks on one of the nearby main roads.

When I got there, the place was in semi-darkness, as there weren’t many people there, but then a couple of men came in and proceeded to sign in.  Old habits die hard, so because I was used to meeting and greeting people in my job, I asked if they had an appointment with someone and one of them said it was with Shirley, the Station Manager.  I didn’t recognise either of the men, but when one of them got out the Mayoral chain and put it on, I realised who it was.  Fortunately, he was very kind about my not recognising him and said that he didn’t know who I was either - but he does now!

Before Shirley arrived, I had a chat with the Mayor, when he told me his name was Junab Ali and from all he said, I realised what a positive and optimistic person he is and what challenges he has faced and is facing in his year of being Mayor.  I also found out that his chauffeur was called Mark - he is in the bottom right of the collage - and I don’t suppose he gets many “photo opportunities” - so thought he deserved to have his 15 minutes of fame on Blip!!

I was then “thrown in at the deep end” when Shirley came in and told me that I could help to interview the Mayor.  I didn’t have time to feel nervous because as we walked to the studio, she just called over her shoulder “Just think of a few questions to ask the Mayor and they don’t all have to be serious”!  So while Shirley started the interview, she soon looked over at me and it was time for me to ask my questions!  

It transpired that Junab - or should I call him “Mr. Mayor” - is doing a marathon on 24th April, with eight different stages, stopping off at local landmarks and schools.  Pupils at almost 30 schools across Swindon will also run a mile at the same time on their school site, to support the Mayor and also to make healthy exercise part of their daily routine.  

Apparently, the Mayor has Type 2 Diabetes and he told us that since he has been training and eating well, he has felt much better and has even been able to adjust his medication.  Running a marathon like this and involving pupils in many schools is a great way to bring the community together.  What a great role model.

The Mayor will be raising funds throughout the day for three charities, Swindon 105.5, the local Community Radio Station, TWIGS Community Gardens (and you may remember I interviewed a lady from there a couple of weeks ago) and The Harbour Project, that helps refugees and asylum seekers across Swindon, providing friendship, hope and advice to them.

When the interview had finished, the Mayor chatted with some members of a local Walking Club, who begin and end their walk each Thursday at the radio station premises  - obviously he was happy to hear that even though most of them are more mature, they still enjoy exercising.  

He then came out into the main production office to chat to students from Crowdy’s Hill School.  This is an all-through special school for pupils aged 5–19 with complex needs and several students come into the radio station each week for work experience.  You can see them with the Mayor, several of the students, Shirley, the Station Manager and one of their Teaching Assistants, Louise in the bottom middle of the collage.  They are always so enthusiastic and I am getting to know them all by name now - in fact, they are very knowledgeable about their particular “passion” - this morning Lewis was able to tell me how to “airdrop” one of the photographs to someone else in the group - it’s a good job he was there to help me!

I took the main photograph of the Mayor before he got into his Swindon Shin Splints tee shirt as I guess he won’t be running in a suit and tie!  One thing he may be wearing though is a pair of red gloves - when he saw a pair I had made and taken into the station for someone else, he said he would like a pair - so I will be knitting them for him.  

Well, what a different and interesting morning - after it had quietened down, Shirley suggested that I might like to edit the second part of the interview, which I did - and it’s true that the more you do something, the more proficient you become, which includes not only doing interviews and editing them but also taking photographs.  I also made an appointment to interview a man who rang in to say he has written several poems - and Shirley thought I would be able to do that interview - it’s all happening now!

I thought this quote was appropriate, especially as during my chat with the Mayor, he said we should always believe in our dreams!

“Like the marathon, 
     life can sometimes be difficult,
          challenging and present obstacles;
however, if you believe in your dreams
     and never give up,
          things will turn out for the best.”
Meb Keflezighi - US Olympic Marathoner 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.