SILLY SATURDAY - NEEDS MUST.....

…..when your hairdresser can’t come to you!  

I can’t seem to get into reading a book at the moment, partly I think because the books I have are rather sad, so I picked up a little book sent to me by a fellow Blipper called “Kindness - the little thing that matters most” by Jaime Thurston. 
 
This is a “dipping into” sort of book, rather than one to be read in one sitting, and the page I read last night said, “Sometimes what people need is assistance rather than things.  Spread some kindness by donating a skill.”  One of the suggestions is to cut someone’s hair - so who better than the man I am self-isolating with, but Mr. HCB?

I can’t honestly say that one of my skills is haircutting, but I know a little about it and have watched our friend, Sue and also our hairdresser, Lisa, enough to know the basics - well I think I do anyway, so was prepared to have a go this morning.  

Having found the basin and a large pair of scissors, after our shower, seemed the perfect time to “have a go” (note the pink robe!) and of course, made a perfect Blip for Silly Saturday.  The selfie stick was very useful, although I hasten to add that no-one was injured in the making of this shot - although looking at this on the big screen, those eyebrows need a good cut!

Many years ago, in 1998, our friend, Sue, who was a lecturer in hairdressing at Swindon College, wrote a Very Limited Edition Training Manual to teach me how to cut Mr. HCB’s hair.  This was before computers were popular, so it is a handwritten manual with diagrams, and she says, “Please forgive head shapes and ears, they are not to scale."  See the extra for Sue’s wonderful diagrams.

I gave up cutting Mr. HCB’s hair several years ago when Lisa arrived on the scene and she has been our hairdresser ever since, but difficult times mean that desperate measures have to be taken.

When Sue wrote this manual we had been friends for well over 20 years and she obviously knew I was good at following written instructions because she says on the last page:

“Few men have the distinction of a manual dedicated to them - 
     John is an exception.
Few women are good at following manuals - 
     Maureen is an exception.
So to two exceptional people, 
     I send my love for long and happy haircuts.  
Sue - April 1998”

Who knew that over 20 years later, her manual would come into its own again?  So special thanks to Sue - but now we have FaceTime and we both know how to use it, perhaps we should have a chat and a video consultation - who knows, this virtual hairdressing may take off in a big way!

This quote states why we all need to keep our hair short:

“My mother has a theory about hair; 
     it is that the longer the hair grows, 
          the dumber a person becomes. 
She warns that too much hair 
     will suck nutrients away from the head 
          and leave it empty.” 
Weike Wang, Chemistry

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.