JESUS IS ALIVE!

Because I kept and treasured
     so many things in my heart
          I just knew that Friday
               wasn’t the end.  
Although I didn't understand
     all that went on
          deep down I knew
that something wonderful
     was going to happen. 
          and I was right! 

My son, Jesus,
     had fulfilled the purpose
          for which he was born.
He took all our sins and guilt 
     on that cruel cross
          so that today and every day
we can have a new start.

Because of his death 
     and resurrection
          we are forgiven and can receive
               his peace and joy - because
HE IS ALIVE!

On Friday my heart was broken - 
     along with all those who knew 
          and loved him - especially his disciples
and in the darkness 
     as we watched him suffer and die
          our hope was gone.

But today my heart is full
     of love and gratitude
          for all that my beautiful son, Jesus,
               did for us on the cross. 
His gift of hope and a new life 
     is there for everyone -
          and it is free to anyone who
               holds out their hands 
to receive it. 

© Maureen Iles 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.