ACCENTUATE THE POSITIVE - ELIMINATE THE NEGATIVE

As I said last week, sometimes something happens and the Blip you had intended for that day gets pushed into the background in order for another one to come to the fore.

This happened to me today - I was thinking about the Mono Monday challenge, when I had a message from someone that made me really angry.  Rather than take it out on Mr. HCB, which I could easily have done, and of course, he doesn’t deserve that, I decided to use that anger and turn it into something positive, which I did.

I realise that during the lockdown I have become rather “slovenly” in my approach to housework, so decided that today was the day that my kitchen worktops would be cleared, which in turn would dissipate my anger and then I would feel better and it worked.

I have been looking at decluttering videos on YouTube and in one of them, it was suggested you take a photograph of your clutter and then see how this could be changed.  The top shot is just before our Waitrose delivery came and the second one is two hours later, with lots of rubbish consigned to the recycling bin and more put into the large cardboard box which is sitting in our hall, and which I hope will soon be able to be delivered to a nearby charity shop.

It’s a good feeling to have done this - my job now is to keep it looking like this - and to go through the rest of the house too.  Perhaps now I have blipped this, it will encourage me and I should take note of this quote and cultivate a taste for keeping things tidy.

“Cleanliness and order 
     are not matters of instinct; 
          they are matters of education, 
               and like most great things, 
                    you must cultivate a taste for them.”
Benjamin Disraeli - British politician 1804 - 1881

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.