AN "ALL SORTS" TYPE OF DAY

Mr. HCB and I had planned to sow our wild flower seeds yesterday, but it rained, so we decided to leave it until today.  I wanted to take some photographs and then last night a friend messaged me to ask if there was a theme for today’s Blip - I said there was, but I could do anything I wanted.  She then said that their very large 100 year old ash tree was being taken down as it had become dangerous and asked if I would be interested in going over.

Not one to miss out on a Blip or an invitation, I popped over just after 9 a.m. and took several shots of Steve and his cherry picker - and am only sorry I don’t have a “before” shot of the tree.  

I didn’t stay long because I knew Mr. HCB wanted to get on with the sowing so decided I would make a collage of the tree work being done and also us sowing the seeds.  You will see various shots in the collage - more for our benefit when we are too old and doddery to remember what we did and when we did it!

Mr. HCB had a plan and it went like clockwork - mixing the seeds with sharp sand - which we got from our next door neighbour, Lynn - sowing it in the area marked by sticks, tamping it down and then putting netting over the top so that the pesky birds don’t eat all the seeds before they have germinated.  Mr. HCB did very well and says his knee is a little sore, but he has been sensible and come in before the pain is too bad.  

I might add that we don’t have a roller, which is recommended after sowing, but dear Mr. HCB said we didn’t need a roller, he had me instead;  cheeky thing - he will be making his own lunch!  It’s a good job we understand one another - and I guess after 54 years we should do!  Mind you, it didn’t do my knees too much good but hopefully, it will have got my steps up today.  According to my Apple watch, I have done 3,500 steps so by the time we have walked over to see the state of the tree and had a cuppa with our friends this afternoon, it will be a few hundred more.

Job done, so we sat and had a lovely cup of coffee and a hot cross bun sitting in the sunshine and surveying our handiwork - all we need now is a little rain, then a little sun and we can watch our seeds growing into beautiful wild flowers.  I have no doubt there will be a Blip in due course!

WILDFLOWERS
“let's be wildflowers,
let our souls be scattered by the wind.
let us grow, wild and free,
tall and brave,
in the places that we dream,
in the places where our longings
are filled.
let us grow between the cracks
of brokenness,
and we will make everything beautiful.”
Gaby Comprés

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.