HOW MANY BOXES?

The good news is that the kitchen still looks good this morning with nothing left out on the worktops - and I mean ALL the worktops, not just the one I showed yesterday.  

However, the same cannot be said for the floor of our lounge, where I have put some of the boxes that I found in various places around the house and just piled them up to take this photograph.

Whenever I have looked at a decluttering video, one of the questions asked is how many boxes you keep and why.  Well, it probably won’t surprise you to know that I keep every box - just in case I need to send or take anything back.  However, the decluttering advisor says we should get rid of them!  What - get rid of some lovely boxes - that’s going to be a hard job!

I have to say that in the case of my new purchase of the Remoska last October, it’s good that I kept the box because it has a fault and needs to go back, so when I rang Lakeland this morning - and I must say, what excellent customer service - I was able to tell the young lady that I still had the box, which she said was very helpful - so that has worked out well.

However, the rest of them will now be put into our paper recycling box and I will bid farewell to them - well nearly all of them.  Of course, I will keep the camera boxes and perhaps I should just put the rest out into the garage in a pile, rather than break them down - small steps, but at least they will be out of the house!

I hope all of you who felt spurred on to start decluttering have now done just that - and as I am on a roll - I am going to start on the corner near my chair in the lounge - having taken a photograph of “before” and “after”.  That was such a brilliant idea and one that I will stick to.

“What I know for sure is that 
     when you declutter – 
          whether it’s in your home, 
               your head, or your heart – 
it is astounding what will flow into that space 
     that will enrich you, your life, 
          and your family.”
Peter Walsh

P.S.  I forgot my "Apple" boxes, but can't possibly throw those away - they are too beautiful and they do spark joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.