FLOWER FRIDAY

I was hoping to be able to say that I had conducted my first "outside"  interview this morning at the Swindon Central Library, but sadly, Darryl, the Local Studies Librarian, I was due to interview was unwell and had been off work all week with a chest infection and could hardly speak. However, bless him, he came into the library because he hadn’t been able to contact me just so that he wouldn’t let me down - how kind!  

He isn’t available during the school Easter holidays, so I am hoping to see him towards the end of April.  However, I assured him that my Street Challenge project will take some time, so postponing the interview really didn't make any difference.

Just before that, Mr. HCB visited the library to take some books back, but I stood outside, underneath the Town Hall clock and “said a few words into the microphone” including the sound of the clock striking 12 noon, so all was not lost.  I took a few photographs in the library, but will wait until I go back to interview Darryl, and then take some more.

Then I had to think about what I would use for my Blip today - so on the walk back home from the bus stop, on the grass verge outside our house, I saw a few little dandelion seed heads and this gorgeous little pink flower, which I believe is a Lamium Purpureum, known as red or purple dead-nettle;  a beautiful little wild flower with equally beautiful leaves.  The tiny pot caught my eye in a charity shop yesterday;  I thought it was a bargain at only £1 and knew it would soon be blipped - just didn’t think it would be this soon.

Hope everyone has a great weekend - not sure what we will be doing tomorrow, but I am leading the service at Church on Sunday - so will no doubt be busy putting the finishing touches to that.

“If all flowers wanted to be roses,
     nature would lose her springtime beauty
          and the fields would no longer be
               decked out with little wild flowers.”
Saint Therese of Lisieux

P.S.  I have bought the red wool and am about to start the Mayor's gloves - guess that's what I will be doing tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.