Willamette Meteorite and Bill

I first met the Willamette Meteorite when I was 6 or 7 years old on a family trip to the New York Museum of Natural History.
The meteorite has been a "touch stone" of sorts for me all of my life, though I never really knew much about it until I rediscovered it here in Eugene, Oregon.
I have a sense for how the Clackamas Native Americans understood it was an other-worldly object to be treated with great respect.
A friend and I visited "my meteorite" today.
Read all about it in the extra photo or here for more information.
My mind boggles at the thought of the Missoula Flood waters washing a 30,000 pound (14,000 kilogram) meteorite 554 miles (890 kilometers) in an ice-block raft from the Montana/Canada border all the way to the Willamette Valley, Oregon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.