Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Taking off!

I am finally getting a chance to blip Thursday!

I woke early despite going the late night and was eager to get the last things to leave done i.e. pack, sort out the house etc. etc. I panicked when I thought the day was flying and I still had to get to the money exchange. All done by the time Glenis came to take me to the airport.

I'm glad I got to the airport early because there was an issue with my luggage. I was 6kgs over and they wanted me to pay. The manager came to have a chat and said even if I put some things into my hand baggage, I might still have a problem as there are spot checks. Grrrr... Anyway, I got the weight down by 4kgs and had to go to a different counter. The man at the desk there was really kind and let me off! Phew! My blip shows Dubai from the air, looking North East.

Into DutyFree to get my bottle of water and got to the gate where it clearly said only one piece of luggage is allowed on the aircraft. I looked around and every one had two. I have to say, I was very relieved when I got on the plane. My fellow passenger very kindly put my bags up for me and he even took them down at the end! :)

The flight was fine and shorter than expected. We arrived before the sun came up but there was enough light to see we were just skimming over the South China Sea! Sandy and Martin came to collect me and after a short wait for the bus, we were soon on our way to Discovery Bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.