Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Surprise!

Today has been very eventful! There's a lot to record so I'll start off with this cake...

The doorbell rang mid-afternoon. I answered and opened it despite looking through the peephole and not recognising this person. He asked for me and wanted to hand me this large bag. I wasn't expecting anything at all so checked to make sure he'd got the right apartment. Yes... he had my name, phone number and correct address! In the bag was a cake with a candle and knife attached to the top of the box. NO indication as to who sent it! Argh! It was close to 4 o'clock tea time, so we enjoyed a piece each, but boy, would it be good to know who I could thank.

The day began rather leisurely. We ventured out as soon as we could. It's the first time since Thursday, 26th March. It is warming up out there and we experienced it for the first time. So, the plan was to shop for meat, so we headed to Spinneys in Mercato. They had closed off the entry to the covered car park, so we moved on to Choithram's near Safa Park. The car park was absolutely full, but when we got to the entrance, they had a notice to say they were closed for sanitization. Oh, dear.

We then thought it was best just to go across town to Carrefour, but decided to call in at Union Co-op just up the road. They had a queue of cars trying to enter the car park, so we ended up in the Choithram's next door to them. I'm glad we did that because we had to buy face masks to be able to shop there, so we now have face masks!

Whilst in the area, we passed by our usual beach spot to do the recycling. It was very quiet. Even the jogging track is out of bounds. I now wish we'd gone to Carrefour from there because we found out this evening that movement is more restricted starting 8 pm today for two weeks. Only one person can leave home to get any shopping done, and they should wear gloves and a face mask. It would have helped greatly if we knew that in the morning. So, I have ordered gloves and a pack of washable face masks from Amazon. Let's see how long they take to come.

PS. I went out without my phone or a camera!!! Hence, another indoor picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.