Pintail #39

Hubby was working today, so I took the opportunity to have a whole day birdwatching. He does like to come along too, but tends to get bored quicker than I do. 

So I went off to RSPB Marshside as I'd not been for a few months and I thought that the avocets might have returned. I arrived at around 10am and went for a walk towards the sea first. The sun was shining and the marsh was bursting with song - mostly skylarks - it was glorious, even if it was a little chilly. (see extra). Then I went to the Sandgrounders hide in search of avocets, but there were none to be found. I sat for a couple of hours waiting for a ruff to come closer(it didn't) and maybe some raptor activity (there was none), before heading down to Nel's hide.  Nel's was more productive with a few redshanks, a little grebe, plenty of gadwall, teal, shoveller and this beautiful Pintail who spent a lot of the time with him bum in the air! I really enjoyed watching them plus all the fly-bys from the pink footed geese and the swans and gulls were also quite active. 

I've also backblipped yesterday's meadow pipit as I did not get chance to post it last night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.