Black Cap #40

This morning we were up early and went to Lunt Meadows. We've not been there since October when we were looking for the short eared owls. This time we didn't have any particular bird in mind, we just wanted to see what progress had been made. 
LWT have been doing a lot of work managing the land and also building a new screen last year and this year we will have our first proper hide which looks like it will be open very soon.

There were quite a few species about - plenty of coots and moorhen as usual, greylag and Canada geese, little grebe and great crested grebe, black headed gulls in their hundreds, tufted ducks, shovellers, teal and gadwall, a massive flock of golden plover flew over to the nearby fields and there were numerous reed buntings singing in the trees. But my pick of the day was a pair of black caps that were flitting about near the kingfisher pond in the willow. It's a bit of a dark shot, but as I only saw a black cap on one or two occasions last year, I'm taking my chance to add this to my list today as #40. 

We've been to my parents for Sunday lunch today which was delicious and even though it's due to get colder this week, I am looking forward to a nice week at home with no travelling for work :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.