Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

"Stolen potatoes"

Today we went to Mum and Dad's and I had put in a special request for what have become known as "stolen potatoes".  The name came about when many years ago I just saw the hollowed out potatoes and remarked that the potatoes had been stolen!  In fact the cooked potatoes are hollowed out, mashed, mixed with cream, a "wee bit of butter", crispy bacon, onion, tomatoes and mushrooms, and then topped with grated cheese.  Mum said they are a bit faffy but they went down well.

We had a really lovely day with them, and I do enjoy the time we spend with them.  I feel lucky to have them as my parents, and they have been wonderful, and I think however old you are you there is always a special place for parents.  It is only when you get older that you really can realise how much they did for you and how hard it must have been at times, but they were always there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.