lauramary

By lauramary

An unnecessarily long journey

Well, it’s not the most exciting photo to return to my blog with, but it does feel an appropriate choice for today.

So, here I am, back. Hopefully for a while. A lot has changed since I last logged in. Several major attachments. A resulting EUPD (disputed) diagnosis. Several destroyed relationships... but overall, I’m probably doing quite a lot better than five years ago.

I say that, but I have taken 11 minor overdoses already this year, so things aren’t exactly tickety-boo.

But let’s talk about today. The aim of the day was to get myself to my goddaughter’s house, a journey that should have taken maybe three hours. But no, me being me and trains being trains, we managed to double that to six hours...

The worst part was when I got to Victoria and discovered there wasn’t a train for 50minutes. Not great, but I thought I’d go for a walk to kill time and up my step count (which I’m slightly obsessed by at the moment).

I ended up walking past what I can only assume were embassies. Many buildings had flags on, as demonstrated in the photo. This was exciting because it gave me a chance to put my recent flag learning into practice.

I ended up near Buckingham Palace where I was amused to see a march taking place with about 20-30 protesters and 50-100 police officers. My amusement was, however, somewhat overshadowed by stress as I wasn’t exactly sure how to get back to the station and it was unclear whether I’d make it before the train departed!

Ending up with a sprint, I amazingly made it onto the 15:36 train just seconds before the doors shut. Except, alas, it was the wrong train... so all got later and later.

While I’d say this experience was less than ideal, I would say that it did at least distract me from my thoughts (which had been driving me mad much of the journey up to this point).

Anyway, it was a delight to finally pull up at my destination to hear the screech of my goddaughter, overwhelmed by the excitement of seeing me. She is adorable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.