Remembering Dad

It's 1 year since Dad passed away. That seems very strange as it feels less than that.

The last few days have felt sad as has today. That's ok, everything has its season. On Friday I decided to make take today off as an annual leave day. I'm glad I did.

It's given me time to think and feel without the pressure of work and fitting everything into a 2 day weekend. I'm surprised how strong my sense of relief and great loss is.

These flowers arrived this afternoon from a dear friend. I wasn't long back from my bike ride. 6 or so kms from home I stopped and paused, just thinking of Dad as I gazed across a field with a flock of coloured sheep grazing.

I've popped a couple of extra photos in where I paused.

I'm pleased that Dad was able to visit where I live now. I felt him with me and his joy and love for me. I am an orphan but I'm a loved one.

Today's ride was a modest 31kms. No hills but I had plenty of head wind to battle.

This morning a couple of retired blokes from the Men's Shed did some jobs for me. My cabinet is firmly attached to the wall. It will be safe in an earthquake. They cleaned the gutter, fixed a cabinet in the bathroom, and advised me on a couple of future plans.

Later this afternoon I visited the nursery where my garden plants have cone from and brought a few things in their sale.

Today's gratitude: For memories and love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.