Out with Bob

I have a bike trip later this month and I haven't done a lot of training.

Last weekend the boisterous nor'easterly wind blew my enthusiasm away. Today I decided that I wouldn't think about the cold southerly, I'd just do it.

I covered 54km with some hills in the middle. I seemed to have more head wind than tail and it was colder than I anticipated. For a while it was quite damp with drizzle but I'd expected worse.

I didn't take enough snacks the last 10kms was a serious effort of mind and body. Leg warmers under my shorts would have been a good idea and I definitely should have put shoe covers on.

Bob is centre right in the photo, leaning against the frame for a sign. It was relatively sheltered at this point. I still had 20kms to cover to get home and my feet were completely numb with cold. I thought that a stop with a little walk might help.

It didn't.

When I got home I eased my feet into dry wooly socks and sheepskin slippers. I knew that if I jumped in the shower without thawing them they'd feel like they were on fire.

I had lots of coffee and hot cross buns while they thawed :-)

Today's gratitude: For my cosy wee home. I still think of it as my new home but I shifted here 2 years ago today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.